PDA

View Full Version : Drop B/E and Drop B Tuning

Underalus
09-06-2003, 02:06 PM
Can anyone help me here with tuning my guitar to Drop B/E from either standard or Drop D please? I left a similar post in Prison Sex about Drop B tuning requesting that it not be so difficult. It would be pretty nice if you guys could help me out with this. Thanks tool fellers.

hey, does anyone know of a really simple way to tune a guitar to drop B, either from Drop D or Standard tuning. If someone has a really easy or at least not very complicated way to tune Drop B, it would be cool if you posted it. I am a beginner and don't know shit about guitar so please keep it simple.

mesa-b
09-06-2003, 02:47 PM
hey,

Well, I'm guessing that you know the little 5th-fret tuning trick. If you want to tune to drop B, just tune your E-string down so that when you play it at the 10th fret it is the exact same pitch as your A-string.

An even easier way would be to invest in a tuner, they're like 50 bucks and will help you out a helluva lot

happy riffing -James

Marius
09-06-2003, 02:49 PM
Tuning Drop-B is simple. You just tune down the low E-string (the thickest string). That string should sound the same as the A-string (the one next to it), if you play the E-string in the 10th fret, and the A-string open. Then the guitar is tuned BADGBE, or "drop-b", if you like.

Drop B/E is a little harder, but easy if you start out in normal tuning (EADGBE). First, tune the A-string down, until it sounds just like the E-string.

Then you tune down the low E-string, until it sounds the same as the A-string, when you play the E-string in the 5th fret, and the A-string open.

This is an easy way to do it. Another way is to just tune down the string(s), while constantly hitting them open, together with (first) the B-string, and then the high E-string. But if you're a beginner, I don't know how good you are at listening to tones and stuff.