PDA

View Full Version : Drum Mixing

Elgyn
08-22-2003, 03:40 PM
I'm wondering if anyone can give me some tips for mixing a drum beat... I think I'm capable of some pretty complex shit in Cool Edit Pro 2.0, since I've worked out how to sync things via the Beats Per Minute, and using the metronome. Timing isn't a problem. The things is I'm not a drummer by trade, and I don't even know the basic 4/4 beats.

Yep... I write in 4/4, basically because I don't understand the complexities of many other time signiatures. My rhythmic skills aren't really up to scratch. I know what other time signiatures mean, there's no problem with that (example: 6/8 = Six Quavers per bar), but I just don't know where the beats should fall.

I've managed to download some pretty damn good drum samples (kick, highhat, snare, toms etc), and they're good enough for me. They don't give much flexibility, but I can do pretty much everything I want with them.

At the moment the only real drum progression I know is...

Beat no.......1....|...2...|...3...|...4...|...1...|... 2...|...3...|...4...|
..................HH.|...HH.|..HH..|..HH..|..HH..| ..HH..|..HH..|..HH..|
.................KIC.|........|........|.......|.K IC..|........|.......|........|
.......................|.......|..SN..|........|.. .....|........|..SN..|........|

HH = Highhat,
KIC = Kick,
SN = Snare
I try and throw in some double kicks here and there, but it doesn't really sound great. My apologies if thats a crap way of notating drumming. I sometimes use variants of this such as a kick or snare landing on the first beat of each bar.
Is drum Tab going to be helpful to me...?

I've got a song as an example of how budget my drum mixing skills are... its at This Link... (http://home.iprimus.com.au/sylent/boundaries_01.mp3)
I would seriously appreciate some drum tips here.
Thanks

. . o O o . .

elevate
08-22-2003, 07:17 PM