PDA

View Full Version : Opinions sought....

elevate
08-04-2003, 02:41 PM
Here's a couple little things I've been working on. (http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/?aid=1414/singles) Climb was basically born of me, for some reason, deciding to dust off my trumpet after a 12 year hiatus. It's also my first real attempt at playing bass (I'm a drummer by trade). During my early organization of this song I envisioned multiple pieces (ie, branches), hence the 'branch 1' part of the title. I've yet to create more 'branches' however...strange thing how having a kid can re-prioritize your time. 11 is a product of me getting some softsynth (I don't even remember which one now), and finding a particularly nice bass sound that had to be worked into a tune ASAP. It also features my meager vibraphone abilities, but I'm a sucker for some vibraphone so I had to do it. Whoever (besides Paraflux) can cite the vox samples gets a cookie. Loft is my first attempt at playing guitar, and is my latest work. It also most closely resembles an actual complete song.

None of the songs are, in my mind, very organized. More like some loosely connected pieces strung together - sometimes this ambling nature is desirable, sometimes not. Clearly some of the transitions are intentional, but I've found that actually completing a song is quite difficult....or perhaps more actually, it's difficult for me to be content enough with one of my songs to actually label it as being 'done'.

Anyway, all of this shit was rough drafted in Fruity Loops, tweaked, mixed, and recorded in Vegas, and edited/"mastered" (for lack of a better term) in Sound Forge.

Elgyn
08-07-2003, 12:06 AM
Heya,