PDA

View Full Version : Use of Odd Meter and Poly-Rhythms

NickInCollege
12-01-2002, 04:30 PM
I don't know how many of you out there are drummers (I am a guitarist actually) but I can REALLY appreciate the amount of thought that went into the rhythm of Forty Six & 2 from about time 4:05 all the way to the climax of the song at around 5:07ish. I've counted it out and it seems to begin with three measures of 7/4 and then a measure of 8/4 then three measures of 7/4 followed by one of 8/4 then five measures of 7/4 followed by one of 8/4 and ending with six measures of 7/4 plus a polyrhythmic section which goes into the "See my shadow changing / strecthing up and over me / soften this old armor" badass climax.
I basically have three questions/comments. First... if you add up all of the measures i listed above you get 20 measures plus the polyrhythm section. At measure 11 (starting the second half of the 20 measures at around 4:34) the really complex drum work begins. At measure 17 is where I am totally blown away. I count measure 17 as 7/4. At beat three does Danny honestly start to play eight even notes to finish off the measure? That would be eights over the remaining five beats in the measure 8:5! That's pretty sweet... Secondly I am blown away during the final poly-rhythm section. It goes into 3/4 in the foreground but if you listen closely you can hear the bass chugging away still in 7/4 in the background. Three measures of 3/4 (evenly? That's really my question... Far be it from me to criticize but it does seem that the end of the three four part holds out a little long before continuing... thus suggesting that it was not completely even) played on top of two measures of 7/4 suggesting an unheard of poly-rhythm of nines of fourteens 9:14!