PDA

View Full Version : How do you start a band?

Darkend Feeling
07-22-2003, 07:47 PM
I'd really love to start a band. The only problem is that I can't find anyone that can play. I think I can play pretty damn good. I've been playing for two years now. I know my way around the pentatonic scale almost perfectly (as soon as I don't have to think about the notes I'll move on to learning Ionian and all his friends). I play mostly solo stuff, because it's the most fun for me. I'm really into Hendrix and I've just learned "All Along the Watchtower" and "Red House".

So, I think I would make a pretty good asset to any band that needs a guy that can play. But I'm only 15 and I don't really know any musicians. Anyone have any advice on how to start a band? Anyone else live in Memphis?

I've got a few more months until I get to driving age, so I'm hoping that will help out a little bit, but still, how do I find other musicians?

wonko_the_sane
07-22-2003, 08:55 PM
I'd really love to start a band. The only problem is that I can't find anyone that can play. I think I can play pretty damn good. I've been playing for two years now. I know my way around the pentatonic scale almost perfectly (as soon as I don't have to think about the notes I'll move on to learning Ionian and all his friends). I play mostly solo stuff, because it's the most fun for me. I'm really into Hendrix and I've just learned "All Along the Watchtower" and "Red House".

So, I think I would make a pretty good asset to any band that needs a guy that can play. But I'm only 15 and I don't really know any musicians. Anyone have any advice on how to start a band? Anyone else live in Memphis?

I've got a few more months until I get to driving age, so I'm hoping that will help out a little bit, but still, how do I find other musicians?