PDA

View Full Version : I'm looking for an electric guitar - suggestions..

Jebus
07-15-2003, 02:28 PM
Hi Y'all. It's pretty cool this section is open. Anyway, I've been playing an acoustic guitar for about 7 months, and I'm wanting to get an electric guitar for around 5 or 6 hundred dollars australian. (about 300 US I think). The music I'd like to play is heavyish rock I guess, tool (der), deftones, smashing pumpkins etc, though If there is a guitar that would cater to some softer stuff (Zeppelin, Jeff Buckely) that'd be neat. If I can't get a combination of the 2, then I'd definintely like the heavier rock sound. I guess I'm also looking for an amp (around 3-400 AU - $200 US) that would sound good with the guitar...so far I've only tried a couple of guitars and the best at the moment is a yamaha pacifica 112. I don't have a clue about amps though...

cheers

holy reality
07-15-2003, 03:02 PM
I replied in your other post but DEFINITELY look into Jacksons, they are FANTASTIC rock/metal guitars.

www.jacksonguitars.com

I have a DKMGT, and it's a great little guitar, the pickups aren't that great, due to lack of treble tones, but those can be changed, and IMO they are better overall pickups than the Pacifica, though it depends on what you want, for metal, they are.

I started on a Yamaha Pacifica, not sure what brand, and it's an ok guitar, but the Jacksons neck is SOOO much faster, and plus 24 frets is great. You can go for the DKMG if you want a whammy, otherwise the are the same essentially.

It isn't *quite* as "beefy" sounding as the Pacifica though, as the Pacifica is quite a bit heavier (in weight).... but I really like my Jackson a lot and they are excellent guitars and really the best you can get for under $500, they slay Ibanez (at least to me) and they look a lot cooler.