PDA

View Full Version : my view on pushit

ihatemickjagger
06-29-2003, 02:35 PM
this is my first time making a full on attempt to dissect a tool song and extract a meaning from it starting from square one...not looking at other's posts and building off them (sure my thoughts might be similar to others posted, i haven't checked every post written about this song)...and to me this song is so complicated, i'm surprised i was able to come up with a message from it. but this has easily become, probably, my favorite tool song...the message is awesome, the flow of the song is awesome...starts out calm, grows to a climax, then becomes near silent while building up to a powerful ending that proves the point (or what i think is the point) of this song.

"i will choke until i swallow" - to me, this shows the cramming of bullshit down our throats (similar to the message of...i think the song is called when it comes, by incubus), and we are forced to live with it. this also goes along with aenema describing the southern california lifestyle

the made up word and title of the song to me has multiple meanings:
push it: simply stating that these ideas are literally being pushed onto him without his control
put shit: he doesn't like the philosophies that today's society is teaching him to beleive, where "shit" comes in. which is true, many of the ideas our society portrays are just plain shit (i know, it's cliche, but i can't agree with it more).