PDA

View Full Version : H. Broken Down, step by step.

fez
11-27-2002, 06:13 PM
Here's a post I posted years ago to tdn, and I still stand by a lot of my original convictions. I've had people email me regarding this interpretation and have had a chance to discuss it, including a gentleman who taught philosophy somewhere (I think at a secondary school level). I still encourage that, so if you want to discuss this piece, feel free to email me at the address at the bottom of this page. Thanks a lot. -fez
--

After reading a number of posts, especially some of the very interesting ideas in regard to the parental relationship that the song may suggest, I've tentatively concluded on my first 'sincere' thesis since I became an English major. Please excuse any typographical errors. I'm an artist at heart, and a very sloppy one.

H., while alluding to everything from addictions, decisions, and temptations, refers to all of these, above and beyond any one concept. The song remains both beautifully sentimental and tragic. I think that

a) Yes, the song is about a certain affliction or 'addiction'.
b) It does pertain to a parental relationship, but not Maynard's, specifically.
c) It relates to letting go.
d) And finally, before I begin, it does have to with the angel/devil-conscience theory that Maynard mentioned on November 23rd, 1996 in Philidelphia before the song.

Specifically, if I can figure out how to express this concisely, the song H. refers to the tempting pattern a parent feels they need to abide by in order to successfully care for their children. Parents, prone to unconditional love and care that transcends time, have a very difficult time 'letting go' of their children and feel the paternal/maternal instinct to safeguard the nest. In short, the song is about parenthood, yes, but on a complex level. It is about a parent, any parent, letting go of their children and letting them grow up.

The song seems to run on a timeline, first describing early parenthood: