PDA

View Full Version : Polyrhythms

rockfan7
05-19-2003, 07:37 PM
I'm not that experienced with polyrhythms as I've only played one song with them in it (I play the piano) and that song was extremely simple. I've heard people say that they're here on Lateralus but I can't hear them. If anyone could point out some spots in any of the songs that contain polyrhythms, I'd appreciate it. I think once I get a feel for what they sound like, I'll understand them more. If you could give a time in the song when it starts (you know, like 3:45 or whatever) that would be awesome as well.

seclorum
05-20-2003, 06:03 AM
bout the polyrythms, don't really know what exactly they are but anyways, Meshuggah are said to use a lot of them. maybe you should check them out to.thank you for the attention.

paraflux
05-20-2003, 10:21 AM
Not at home, so no times from me...
The beginning of Eulogy is the perfect example. For the first 3 minutes there's all those different percussive instruments, and even the bass and guitar get in on the action. Danny does it so often its hard to think about when he's only got one rhthym going on. The end of Lateralus, the spiral, thats all about polyrhthyms. The guitar and bass are in one time sig, drums in another (or a few other).

rockfan7
05-20-2003, 06:33 PM
Yeah I have Chaosphere by Meshuggah. And I can hear it at the beginning of Eulogy. But I think I might be asking for the wrong thing. I was always under the impression that polyrhythms were when there were two different types of rhythms (like triplets against duplets) and polymetrics were when there were two different time signatures (like 4/4 and 5/4). But I'm not really sure about any of this stuff. Anyways, I appreciate the feedback and hope more people add to this thread.

aetherion
05-21-2003, 06:02 AM
i've had music lessons for like the last 13 years or something [don't follow suit...they get kinda tedious when all you do is exams -_-]