PDA

View Full Version : MJK vs Morrissey

thomasknight
05-23-2006, 08:21 AM
I'm fairly new to Undertow and I only really listened to disgustipated properly last night. I was surprised to hear the similarity in the begining with "Meat is Murder" by the Smiths. Any thoughts?

drayeva
05-23-2006, 09:57 AM
i don't think that they are similar at all. Morrissey is an extreme vegitarian and meat is murder puts across those views. To me it seems like Disgustipated is mocking these very views. For example:

"These are the cries of the carrots, the cries of the carrots!"

"They have a consciousness, they have a life, they have a soul! Damn you! Let the rabbits wear glasses! Save our brothers!"

You can hardly take these lyrics as not being humorous or sarcastic. The essence of the song is 'Life feeds on life' and 'This is necessary', something which i hardly think would sit well with morrissey.

i've never understood veggies, what do they put in their bacon sandwiches?

To quote John Cleese, “If God did not intend for us to eat animals, then why did he make them out of meat?”

drayeva
05-23-2006, 10:02 AM
unless you're meaning this musically, and even then the only similarity is that both involve a piano, albeit the piano is getting smashed up in Disgustipated

thomasknight
05-23-2006, 10:57 AM
unless you're meaning this musically, and even then the only similarity is that both involve a piano, albeit the piano is getting smashed up in Disgustipated

Thanks for your reply, but i think your getting in far heavier than me. I was only talking about the sounds at the very start. The sheep instead of the cow, those machine cutting like sounds. The fact that you pointed all those things out to me seems to mean there is a connection. I hadn't even thought about that. Are you saying that MJK is conscious of the Smiths song while writing this?

John Cleese: couldn't have said it better

paraflux
05-23-2006, 01:10 PM