PDA

View Full Version : Tracklist NOT Copyrighted! Or so it seems.

Myriad: Days To Come
03-14-2006, 12:24 PM
Thought I would do some internal investigation of my own into the track list. So I visited the official government issued Copyright Search Engine.

www.copyright.gov

I decided to type in just a few of the track titles. Nothing! Well at least nothing copyrighted under the name of Tool, or any of their affiliations. Hell, not even a record label owns any of them.

Here is a quick link to the Copyright in Music Engine.

http://www.copyright.gov/records/cohm.html

If you can find one for yourself... please post. Otherwise it appears to be a false tracklist.

Bogart
03-14-2006, 12:25 PM
Track titles can't be copyrighted can they?

ARMZ
03-14-2006, 12:25 PM
You can't copyright titles.

03-14-2006, 12:26 PM

Indeed. I would know. I am a writer.

maneva
03-14-2006, 12:26 PM
yeah, i don't think you can copyright track titles. maybe album titles though.

03-14-2006, 12:27 PM
You can't copyright the names of track titles.... but if you would search for the title and any copyrights connected to it. It would show up.

Nebel
yes album titles and it'll be copyrighted around the release

ButtholeJones2
Thought I would do some internal investigation of my own into the track list. So I visited the official government issued Copyright Search Engine.

www.copyright.gov

I decided to type in just a few of the track titles. Nothing! Well at least nothing copyrighted under the name of Tool, or any of their affiliations. Hell, not even a record label owns any of them.

Here is a quick link to the Copyright in Music Engine.

http://www.copyright.gov/records/cohm.html

If you can find one for yourself... please post. Otherwise it appears to be a false tracklist.

You can copyright a band name...not titles or an album title.

thejesus
03-14-2006, 12:28 PM

hmmm...good question...I would have to think not...