PDA

View Full Version : why does everyone think...

Jojo
11-20-2002, 03:40 PM
This song is about love making? i can clearly make the connection, but i think it is more about life, and how precious it can be. With the whole "All this pain is an illusion" To me, this clearly says that Pain should be taken as something to hold us back from doing, because notice how your about to do something you love, and you get injured? at least this happens to me...

Jojo

undrtow17
11-21-2002, 12:53 AM
That is interesting you speak about always getting hurt before doing something you love. It is like our strength has trouble escaping or moving past our waekness.
I am a drummer and i find after 7 years of playing my hearing is getting more tender.
A friend used to spraypaint as a form of expression. His throat had a violent reaction and he was confined from engaging his art.
This could also tie into Carl Jungs theory of snychronicity. which says essentially that external conditions reflect internal conditions.
I am being forced to take percautions with my ears. The physical means which i use to recieve my and others music.

My friend was limited by his throat, home of the 5th chakra, the communication chakra (notice flaming eye on the throat of figure on the cover of lateralus) ironically, his very means of artistic expression was atrophied by the reaction of the place in his body which corresponds to communication, expression.

Just thoughts

thank you for listening,
wishing you commuication
-Jordan

luna
11-21-2002, 01:18 PM
i too see parabol/a as a view on life as a whole, although i do see the relationship aspect clearly. life is filled with many dichotomies. pleasure/pain, love/hate etc etc.. all of these are concepts that in order to grow we must embrace and experience.

every song on this album to me is a representation of a form of transcendence, or what is required to rise above the mundane, everyday monotony and LIVE.