PDA

View Full Version : Pro Tools (Mbox)

Darkend Feeling
12-25-2003, 03:26 PM
I just recieved the Mbox with Pro Tools software for Christmas and I was wandering if any of you were familiar with it and had any opinons about it. I talked with a few people (one of which was not a store emplyee) and they all gave it rave reviews. After playing with it for a little over an hour now, I think it's great but there's plenty to learn.

If you don't know anything about the Mbox or Pro Tools, here's a link: http://www.digidesign.com/products/mbox/

So anyways, I play guitar and a little bass. I'd like some thoughts on Pro Tools software and if you think it's the right thing for a complete beginner at recording.
Thanks.

BTW, what first turned me on to Pro Tools is that I heard somewhere that Thirteenth Step was done on it.

deviatedwolf625
12-26-2003, 06:33 PM
It looks decent from what I see, especially for 500$. *shrug* Beginning recorder ... I dunno what to suggest for ya. Buy a book on it?

elevate
12-28-2003, 10:02 PM
BTW, what first turned me on to Pro Tools is that I heard somewhere that Thirteenth Step was done on it.
Pro Tools has little to nothing to do with what 13th Step sounds like.

I've used Pro Tools, and the software gets a big 'meh' from me. It looks, feels, and behaves like a Mac app circa 1994. It offers nothing in the way of features over any number of other apps. It does work though (obviously), and if forced to, I could get my work done with it, though I'd rather use something different.

The Mbox seems like a pretty good deal though - decent pres and software for $500. If you're interested in trying something different, I'm almost positive Digidesign provides ASIO drivers, which means any audio app can use its i/o.

Darkend Feeling
12-28-2003, 10:09 PM
So then, what do you prefer to use? From my understanding, Pro Tools is the "industry standard". Does anyone know if I can get a job if I get proficient with it?

elevate
12-29-2003, 08:52 AM