PDA

View Full Version : Buying My First Amp

stu
12-08-2003, 03:52 PM
i have a $500 limit for a christmas present this year, i could either get a new guitar or a new amp.
i'm not sure i'm ready to get a new guitar right now, my current guitar is ass but i still like it... and i'm still learning to play.
i guess this really wouldn't be my first amp since i already have a $50 10-watt piece of shit kramer amp that came with my guitar.
i would like to buy a decent amp.
the problem is.... i know almost nothing about amps and the few friends i have that play guitar are no help either.
i was looking for some recommendations.
i'm really into bands like the smashing pumpkins, tool, apc, old metallica, nirvana, opeth... stuff like that.
that's the kind of music i play and would like to be able to play...
so good distortion would be a plus.
i'm sure you can't have both great distortion and great clean tones on an amp for this price, but i don't want something that has good distortion but sucks ass in just about every other way.
if you guys could help me out i'd really appreciate it
i tried some other websites to do some research and they were not very helpful, if you just want to direct me to another webiste that would be cool too.

thanks

deviatedwolf625
12-08-2003, 06:36 PM
Let me tell you some about amps.

There are two types of amps, Solid-state (Interchangeable with digital) and tube. Tube's are great for distortion, get a nice warm distortion to them.

Solid-states are nice choppy distortion, more grating (Listen to Disturbed).

Adam uses a Marshall, which is a tube amp.

My ultimate advice is try some amps. I recommend Marshalls as tubes, and Line6's as digitals

haftelm
12-08-2003, 07:23 PM
Actually Adam uses many different amps. But mostly an old modded Marshall bass amp and a Diezel VH4.