PDA

View Full Version : starting guitar/bass

m4yn4rd
11-29-2003, 11:13 AM
Hey, I'm considering starting either guitar or bass, not quite sure which one though, I have a few questions, how long did it take you to get really into the flow if you know what i mean, what age did you all start at, what's a good way to start, how much does a decent bass cost, (already have a guitar sitting around my house)... give me your thoughts. thanks

deviatedwolf625
11-29-2003, 11:33 AM
I've been playing for a couple years on my Dad's Ibanez SR400, nice bass, the action is a little high, but that's adjustable.

Out of the two instruments, guitar is the one that seems to have been more explored, it's much harder to find a unique sound in the guitar world as compared to the bass world.

I'm a bassist though, so you can feel free to flame me for that comment.

Out of the two instruments, bass seems to be the harder to become better at, and bassists are harder to find.

However, guitar is (A) Easier to pick up, (B) Cheaper to buy gear for, and (C) Much more of a lead instrument.

It really depends d00d, I recommend bass.

A good starter bass goes for about 300$. I recommend the Ibanez Soundgears, they sound good, play good.

A good starter bass amp, is about 200$ used, 300-400$ new to get something with decent wattage (My 60 watt practice amp was 200$ used).

It also really depends on the guitar store.

Entry level guitars seem to run for about 200-300$, and a good guitar amp is about 300$.

All American dollars, BTW.

My recommendation to start is to take a couple lessons at least, and get a feel for whatever instrument you choose, and then buy some books. They're hellah cheaper than lessons, and a good book will leave no questions unanswered, at least if it's on technique.

And finally, have fun with it, whatever you choose to do.

m4yn4rd
11-29-2003, 11:42 AM