PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone else like the rhythms?

Pyrophoric_yeti
11-15-2003, 09:30 PM
I have listen to this song quite alot and when i came here i noticed that everyone seems intent on what it means etc. etc.

But if you listen intently he is playing some very very tricky rhythms *finds an example* there we go, for example at 6.35 he starts to play a beat (I'm talking about danny here just so ya no) that has a 3/4 HH feel with a 4/4 beat underneath. I took this to my drum teacher (I'm a drummer) and it took us a good month for us to get it, and this is just the shit he is playing as a standard beat.

I'm yet to discover what he is doing at the very begining with his wood blocks which seems to be the same style of 3/4 over 4/4 rhythm.

Danny seems to be at his most interesting when he plays quietly.

Anyone with thoughts on his style or anything else interesting please post.

Madklikor
12-16-2003, 08:26 AM
Yep, a lots of parts have a ternary over binary feel (mostly 3/8 over 4/4, a hemiola), and not only on the drums. The vocals on the beginning have also a ternary feel at some moments, and the guitar and the bass during the part you're talking about are playing a 6/8 riff over the drum pattern. I love these parts...
I have a gp4 file of the intro if you want it...

Pyrophoric_yeti
12-18-2003, 02:32 PM