PDA

View Full Version : The Patient

JustJames
01-16-2013, 07:24 PM
This is my first post. I've been coming to this website since probably 2001 and have really enjoyed readying every ones comments. I am going to make this pretty short as I'm sure this has been posted a millions times.

I think this song, "The Patient" is simply Maynard speaking to the band about his frustrations with them. If you remember Lateralus came out a year after Mer de norms and I remember watching and interview with Maynard were he mentioned that the other band members were either jealous of APC or just not happy that he wasn't around to write lyrics, etc. Don't remember the exact quote but that's what I got from it.

I'm not going to go through each stanza and explain, but if you have that thought in your mind the lyrics are pretty self explanatory. At least to me they are.

Cheers- JustJames

hellboy1975
01-16-2013, 10:20 PM
If you remember Lateralus came out a year after Mer de norms and I remember watching and interview with Maynard were he mentioned that the other band members were either jealous of APC or just not happy that he wasn't around to write lyrics, etc. Don't remember the exact quote but that's what I got from it.

I don't remember anything like that being said at all, but would be interested in reading it if true.

JustJames
03-31-2013, 07:43 AM